School Council

School Council

The School Council is the governing body of the school. The primary purpose of the School Council is to help the school to provide the best possible education for all its students. The School Council is accountable to the ESF, the parents and the community. It works to develop effective working relationships between staff, parents, ESF management, other schools and the wider community. The School Council meets regularly throughout the academic year.

The members of the School Council for the academic year 2015-16 are:

  • Virginia Morris, Council Chair
  • Karin Wetselaar, Principal (Ex-officio)
  • Nicki Holmes, ESF Representative
  • Anna Cheung, Community Representative
  • Alan Collins, Parent Representative
  • Daphne Ip, Non-Teaching Staff Representative
  • Jackie Newman, Teacher Staff Representative
  • Mike Watson, Teacher Staff Representative


Virginia Morris, Council Chair

Virginia Morris_0Virginia Morris is a community representative and the Chair of JCSR School Council. She is a branding and leadership expert at Bamboo Difference, working with middle managers and senior leaders on how to succeed in business while also positively impacting the community. Virginia holds a Master of Commerce and teaches in the Faculty of Business and Economics MBA program at The University of Hong Kong.

She has previously held senior global and Asia Pacific regional positions with Starbucks Coffee International, The Economist Group, Eye Corp, Air New Zealand, Ansett Australia, Tourism Australia and Cunard Line.

Virginia has been the JCSRS Council Chair since December 2013 and represents the Committee of School Chairs on the ESF Board. Prior to JCSRS she spent 5 years as a Community Representative on South Island School Council. She is also a Mentor for The Women’s Foundation, a University of Hong Kong Mentor for Undergraduates, and a past Board member of KELY Support Group.



Nicki Holmes, ESF Representative

Nicki is the ESF representative on the JCSR School council. Nicki studied psychology at Royal Holloway, University of London, before qualifying as a teacher and working in a primary school in outer London. She went on to train as an Educational Psychologist in 2004 and worked in this role for over ten years both in the UK and Hong Kong. Nicki joined ESF in 2011 and was integral in the establishment of the Therapy Centre and the ESF Educational Psychology Service. She later took on the role as SEN Leader and Therapy Manager and is now the Inclusion Team Leader at ESF Centre, setting the strategic direction for inclusion and SEN across ESF. Nicki is also a board member for the newly established SENIA Hong Kong branch (Special Education Network in Asia); a network dedicated to promoting awareness, inclusion and advocacy for individuals with special educational needs across Hong Kong.




Anna Cheung, Community Representative


Anna Cheung is a community representative.  She is Head, Vocational Training for People with Disabilities Section and three Shine Skills Centres under the Vocational Training Council.  She is currently involved in a project to engage students with disabilities in career planning and development through life-long learning.  Before serving students with disabilities, she had over 20 years of experience in vocational education and had wide experience in project/ school management, quality assurance and accreditation exercises.


Sandra Lee, Parent Representative

Sandra LeeSandra Lee is a Parent Representative of the Jockey Club Sarah Roe  School, which her 11 year old son Valentino currently attends. She also serves as member of the JCSRS PTA.   Sandra and her husband also have 2 younger children, who also attend ESF schools. Sandra has been living in Hong Kong for the past 14 years and has built her career in asset management across various international organizations.





Alan Collins, Parent Representative

Alan Collins_0Alan Collins is a Parent Representative on the JCSRS Council.  A lawyer by profession, his son Jimi has been a student at JCSRS for 12 years.








Jackie Newman – Teacher Representative

Jackie Newman has extensive experience in working with SEN personnel. She has been working in JCSRS for more than nine years as a class teacher and the PSHE and Vocational Training Co-ordinator. Prior to this, she has worked as a Police Officer, an office manager and a teacher for both local and international schools. Currently, she is Silver Class’ teacher and the Science Co-ordinator. She is a representative of APTESF and a member of Health and Safety Committee. Jackie Newman is committed to developing green and sustainability projects in JCSRS. Jackie has a degree in English, a postgraduate diploma in Education (English and Gifted Education) and a Master Degree in Psychology.



Daphne Ip, Non-Teaching Staff Representative

OT01_0Daphne is a registered Occupational Therapist in Hong Kong and also licensed in US.  She has been at Jockey Club Sarah School since 2007.  She completed a Bachelor of Science degree in Occupational Therapy at The Ohio State University (USA) and worked in hospitals and long-term care facilities for children with special needs.  She has experience in working with children with complex physical impairments, acquired brain injury in childhood, and autistic spectrum disorders- assessment and intervention.  She has completed her training in Sensory Integration Praxis Test (USC); and is certified in Therapeutic Listening Basic and Advanced level. Daphne also has experience with seating assessment and various handwriting training programs.  Since being at Sarah Roe School she has been involved in the school bus committee as a consultant for safe transportation.


Mike Watson, Teacher Representative

mwMike has taught Physical Education for over 20 years, 5 of which being at JCSRS. He has taught at a primary and secondary level for ESF, HKIS, Hong Lok Yuen as well as overseas in Phuket at Phuket International Academy. He has experience of being a teacher representative on previous School Councils. He presently is on the JCSRS PTA, CPD committee and Health and Safety Committee.